pierre j mejlak
bio news books reviews awards blog contact

With Malta's Prime Minister Lawrence Gonzi and National Book Council President Gorg Mallia, after winning the best adult fiction category at the National Book Awards (Valletta, 2011)






October 2014
EU Prize for Literature
Pierre J. Mejlak wins the European Union Prize for Literature for his book "Dak li l-Lejl Ihallik Tghid" (what the night lets you say). The award recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe and is open to countries participating in Creative Europe, the EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors. Each year, national juries in a third of the countries, nominate the winning authors.

December 2012
National Book Awards
First Prize (Dak li l-Lejl Ihallik Tghid)
Dak li l-Lejl Ihallik Tghid, Mejlak's second collection of short stories, wins the Adult Fiction First Prize at the National Book Awards. This is Mejlak's fifth National Book Award.

January 2011
National Book Awards
First Prize (Qed Nistenniek Niezla max-Xita)
Qed Nistenniek Niezla max-Xita, Mejlak's bestselling collection of short stories, wins the coveted Adult Fiction First Prize at the 2010 National Book Awards.

April 2010
Premio Storie (Leconte Editore, Italia)
Readers' Choice Award
Pierre J. Mejlak wins the readers' choice award at this year's Leconte's "Premio Storie 2009 per la scrittura momentista", organised by Italian publishing house Leconte Editore. Mejlak was awarded for his piece Ten Minutes Malta, translated into English by Antoine Cassar and into Italian by Carlo Memmo. The piece appeared in the international literary journal Storie.

October 2009
Sea of Words European Short Story Award
First Prize (I want to call out to Samirah)
Pierre J. Mejlak wins Europe’s Sea of Words Award for his short story Nixtieq Nghajjat lil Samirah (I want to call out to Samirah). This year's Sea of Words contest was aimed at the production of short stories on re-establishing bridges of trust, dialogue and reconciliation in the Mediterranean and in Europe, with the objective of showing the different sensitivities and realities in the Euro-Mediterranean region, from the point of view of the writers who live there. Around 200 writers from 40 European and Mediterranean countries took part in this year’s contest organized by IEMed and the Anna Lindh Foundation. Mejlak won the competition with a unanimous jury vote, made up of top European novelists.

December 2008
National Book Awards
First Prize (Rih Isfel)
Pierre J. Mejlak's bestselling novel Rih Isfel (southern wind) claims first prize in the category for Young Adult Fiction at the 2008 National Book Awards.

October 2007
Malta Journalism Awards
First Prize (Maltese Language in Journalism)
Pierre J. Mejlak wins his second Malta Journalism Award for the best use of the Maltese language in Journalism. The 17th edition of the MJAs was organised by the Institute of Maltese Journalists.

November 2006
National Book Awards
First Prize (Enciklopedija ghat-Tfal)
Pierre J. Mejlak wins the first prize of the National Book Awards for Enciklopedija ghat-Tfal, published to wide acclaim by Merlin Library in 2005. Organised by Malta's National Book Council, this year the awards attracted 166 entries, which vied for the top prizes in six different categories.

November 2005
Malta Journalism Awards
First Prize
Pierre J. Mejlak wins the coveted Malta Journalism Award for his interviews with the President of the European Commission Romano Prodi and other reports sent from Brussels in 2004.

November 2004
National Literary Awards
Translation Category Winner
(Stejjer mill-Bibbja)

Pierre J. Mejlak wins the translation category of the National Literary Awards with Stejjer mill-Bibbja, a collection of Bible stories for children, published by Merlin Library in 2003.


              ©2006 Pierre J Mejlak. Site by: briangrech